The MDA’s Committee for Public Art (MDACPA) was established in January 2008 with the goal of placing quality art pieces in public places to give citizens and visitors in historic downtown McMinnville an opportunity to interact with art as an integral part of the design of the community.

The committee’s efforts to date have resulted in the installation of 20 pieces in the McMinnville Downtown Historic District. Of these pieces, more than half have been purchased by individuals and donated to the City for its permanent collection.

This Public Art Committee is tasked with the following:

  • Developing policies and goals for the selection, placement and maintenance of works of art
  • Approving artists during the selection process
  • Recommending uses for Public Art monies
  • Considering projects by private developers and citizens, which would result in a work or works of Public Art; and responds to any other Public Art initiative in the City. 

Public Art Committee Members

Chair-  Steven Rupp, 

Co-Chair- Edwina Castle

Member- Stuart Jacobson 

Member- Sharon Morgan

Member- Jenny Berg, MDA Board Member

Member- Rob Stephenson, MDA Design Committee

Member- Vacancy (this could be you!)


The Public Art Committee meets on the fourth Thursday of every month at at 9:00 AM in the small conference room in the CDC Building at 5th and Baker Streets with the exception of November and December because of Thanksgiving and Christmas.